MCS' National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

MCS National Merit Semifinalists

Congratulations to the Monongalia County Schools' National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists!

The National Merit Scholarship Program announced that 17 Monongalia County Schools' students are semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Competition. Semifinalists are the highest scoring entrants in each state and represent less than one percent of the nation’s seniors and are among 16,000 named nationally.

More than 1.6 million students competed when they were juniors by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). These students will have the opportunity to compete for approximately 7,500 Merit Scholarship awards totaling $30 million.

The Monongalia County Schools’ semifinalists are:  

Shu-Ruei Chang

Gareth Clark

Nolan Cook

Dominic Gabriele

Owen Gerdes

Alice Guo

Grady King

Elena Kurov

Drake Lasala

Amber Li

Celina Liang

Irina Stanescu

Bryn Tronco

Liza Wan

Gloria Wang

Luke Watson

Alexander Whitney



Back to School News       Print